International Women’s Day: A Tribute To The Women In My Life

With the celebration of international female icons today as well as shining light on the underprivileged women on this Earth, I’d like to take this opportunity to write a small tribute to the unacknowledged female heroes in my life.

Firstly, and most importantly, my mother. I’m sorry I was ever so difficult to deal with when I was younger and I apologise now to let you know that I will most likely be difficult to deal with in the future. After all, I learn from the best (what with your unyielding stances when I’m not treated the way I should be and your intolerance to unreasonable people). I also want to take this opportunity to thank you for all you have done for me – for always standing by me and encouraging me whenever I need it. Thank you for supporting me through whatever decisions I make and whatever silly hobby I wish to pursue in an attempt to create myself. Thank you for all your wise words when my hotheadedness gets the better of me and your outrageous jokes at the most inappropriate times. Thank you.

Secondly, my wild, ridiculous sister. We’ve gotten so close ever since we both moved here and I am so grateful for that. What a turn of events – from full blown fights over some omelettes and who gets to shower first to running errands for each other and sharing basically everything. We did it – we finally learnt how to share with each other. Mum would be so proud. But also, let this not go unnoticed: you have become such an important figure in my life and I want you to know that I appreciate having you around so much. You have proved many, many times that all the things we tease you with have no truth – you are incredibly smart, fun, sharp, and most importantly, ours. Always remember that. (I’m also your #1 fan, don’t let anyone else tell you otherwise).

Thirdly, my friends, my girls, my sisters in everything but blood. I love you guys. You girls have taught me so much about friendship, life, and myself. You have taught me the power that girls have when we stick together, the importance of having each others backs, the comfort in having a family away from home. Thank you for being my people, my moral compass, my sense of reason when I had none (y’all know exactly what I’m talking about). You have been there with me through thick and thin, through the worst times of my life and the best. We have been through so much together that I know what we have here will last a lifetime, regardless of whatever life throws at us. I also hope you guys know that you are all destined for such great things and to remember us little people when you’re out there changing the world.

Happy International Women’s Day! I hope that while we are all out there celebrating important women who have made big differences in the world and surfacing all the issues and obstacles we still face, we remember to acknowledge and celebrate all the under-appreciated but by no means ordinary women in our lives. Here’s to us, everything women have accomplished, and all that we will.

Leave a Reply

